Indian Women Cricketing Legends whom we wished were part of WPL 2023

Indian Women Cricketing Legends whom we wished were part of WPL 2023

By: WE Staff


Cricket legends have always had a special place in the hearts of fans all over the world. Their incredible skills, unrivalled talent, and unforgettable moments on the field have made them undisputed game heroes.

With the introduction of the Women's Premier League (WPL) in 2023, fans are eagerly anticipating the arrival of the next generation of cricketing superstars. However, as we look forward to the future, it's difficult not to reflect on the past and wonder which of our favourite cricketing legends we wish could still play.

Here’s taking a look at some of the cricketing legends we would have loved to see in the upcoming Women's Premier League 2023.

Anjum Chopra

Anjum Chopra is a former cricketer from India who now works as a cricket commentator. Anjum Chopra entered the cricket field to play cricket at a young age. The Women's Cricket team is led by her. She found it challenging to block out thoughts of David Gower while she was at the wicket. She is an exceptional cricket player who has attained a number of milestones in her career. In 2012, she announced her retirement from all formats.

Anjum turned into an author and co-wrote the coffee table book titled Women's Cricket World – A Journey from 1745- 2013. The book highlights the history of the sport worldwide to its present-day under the International Cricket Council.

She is also a popular face on Indian television and has been advocating for women’s cricket strongly.

Jhulan Nishit Goswami

Indian cricketer JhulanNishitGoswami is a superb athlete. She is thought to be one of the best and fastest female fast bowlers in history.

In 2011, she was awarded the M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for the best female cricketer. She now holds the record for most wickets in women's ODIs. She was encouraged to play cricket by the 1992 Cricket World Cup, and as a result, our country gained a great jewel.

Mithali Dorai Raj

When it comes to women's cricket, MithaliDorai Raj is Sachin Tendulkar. Her leadership abilities compare to MS Dhoni's. She had a childhood dream of being a Bharatanatyam dancer.

In terms of international cricket, she has a number of speed records. In WODIs, she has scored the most runs. In 2005, she was named captain of the Indian WODI team. She has played cricket for the country for more than 20 years thanks to her exceptional fitness and fierce determination. In addition, she has won a number of honours, including the Padma Shri in 2015 and the Arjuna Award in 2003.

Neetu David

Former Indian women's cricket player Neetu David, who now chairs the BCCI women's selection committee, represented her country's women's cricket team. She can spin with her left arm really well. Her model was Diana Edulji. After seeing her play, she began to play cricket herself.

In women's Test matches, Neetu has the best bowling statistics. She recorded 8/53 against England in Jamshedpur in November 1995. Neetu amassed the most wickets during the 2005 Women's World Cup competition. The most wickets taken by a player in the competition was 20, which she took. She was also the first Indian spinner in women's ODIs to record 100 wickets.

Sandhya Aggarwal

Sandhya Agarwal is a former Indian women's cricket team captain.

From 1984 and 1995, this Indori cricket legend participated in 13 Test matches, scoring 1110 runs with a batting average of 50.45, including 4 hundreds. She set a world record in a test match in England in 1986 by scoring 190 runs in an inning. Denise Annetts, who scored 193 in 1987, beat her score, though. In 21 Women's ODIs, she also participated, amassing 567 runs at an average of 31.50.

Sandhya played for the Indian women's cricket team and the Railways women's cricket team, among other notable teams. Post her retirement, the Arjun awardee became a cricket selector and coach. She is also the chairperson of girl's U-19 and senior women's team of MPCA as well as a member of the BCCI's women's committee.

Shantha Rangaswamy

Shantha Rangaswamy is a veteran Indian women cricketer often called as the pioneering Indian woman cricketer. From 1976 to 1991, she participated in 16 Women's Test cricket matches for India and captaining the team in 8 of those contests (8 in 1976–77 and 4 in 1983–84). Under Shantha's captaincy, India won its first-ever test match against the West Indies in November 1976 at the Moin-ul-Haq Stadium in Patna. From 1981–82 until 1986, she also participated in 19 Women's One–Day Internationals, captaining the team in 16 of those contests. Shantha is also the recipient of the prestigious Arjuna Award in 1976 and the first recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award for Women from the BCCI.

Sudha Shah

Former Indian cricketer Sudha Shah played in both Test and One Day International matches. Also, she competed for South Zone and Tamil Nadu in domestic competitions in India. She participated in 13 One Day Internationals and 21 Test matches overall. She received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Board of Control for Cricket in India in June 2018. 

Ujwala Vasudev Nikam

Former Indian cricketer Ujwala Vasudev Nikam played in both Test and One Day International matches for Indian. Additionally she played for the domestic league's Maharashtra women's cricket squad. Ujwalaparticipated in two One Day Internationals and eight Test matches.

Ujwala was born into a middle classfamily from Pune and her father was a police officer. She studied at the city's Modern High School.