Tata WPL 2023: RCB recorded their first Victory; defeating UPW by 5 wickets

By: WE Staff | Thursday, 16 March 2023

The Tata WPL 2023 UP Warriorz vs Royal Challengers Bangalore: Royal Challengers Bangalore registered their first victory at the Tata WPL 2023. They defeated UP Warriorz with 5 wickets. RCB secured their position at the points table with 2 points.

The match was held at the DY Patil stadium, in Mumbai where both teams locked horns. Team RCB on the toss and captain Smriti Mandhana opted to bowl first. The women of RCB gave tough competition to their competitors during the match. They grabbed all the 10 wickets of UPW in the first innings leaving them all out at 135 runs in 19.3 overs. RCB’s top performers, Kanika Ahuja, and Richa Ghosh made the highest scores for a win. Kanika secured 46 off 30 balls whereas Richa made 31 runs in 32 balls. The most number of wickets taken during the match was Ellyse Perry with 3 wickets down of UPW. Additionally, openers Devika Vaidya and Alyssa Healy were removed by Sophie Devine, Megan Schutt also contributed to taking UPW wickets. Kanika Ahuja achieved the title of ‘Player of the Match’.

Playing XI members of UP Warriorz and Royal Challengers Bangalore are:

UP Warriorz XI:

  1. Alyssa Healy
  2. Devika Vaidya
  3. Kiran Navgire
  4. Grace Harris
  5. Tahila McGrath
  6. Simran Shaikh
  7. Sophie Ecclestone
  8. Deepti Sharma
  9. Shweta Sehrawat
  10. Anjali Sarvani
  11. Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Royal Challengers Bangalore XI:

  1. Smriti Mandhana
  2. Sophie Devine
  3. Ellyse Perry
  4. Heather Knight
  5. Richa Ghosh
  6. Shreyanka Patil
  7. Disha Kasat
  8. Megan Schutt
  9. Sobhana Asha
  10. Renuka Singh Thakur
  11. Kanika Ahuja