Under the initiative of the National Commission of Women (NCW), India, the Department of Political Science at St Aloysius College (SAC) in Mangaluru hosted an international webinar titled "Reproductive Choice of Women: A Fundamental Right" for better implementation of existing policies, schemes, programmes, or projects relating to women's welfare and empowerment. On Wednesday, November 24, the international webinar was held in a hybrid mode—offline in Sanidhya and online via YouTube and Zoom.

The dialogues aimed to gather critical inputs on what obstructs women's reproductive choices and likely identify communities that are disproportionately affected due to religion, caste, or community to aid policy formation at the relevant level of administration. As a result, the webinar intended to raise enough awareness among the target audience—adolescent boys and girls, adults, instructors, students, representatives of local government, members of non-governmental organisations, and the general public.

In his presidential speech during the inaugural session, Fr Dr. Praveen Martis SJ, Principal of St Aloysius College (Autonomous), Mangaluru, said that acceptance of women's rights as rights, rather than women's fight for rights, should be prioritised.

While the resource persons presented their recommendations for the national, state, and local levels, the student panelists offered their observations and comments on gender-related behaviours and statements in the local sociocultural domain.

Dr. Rose Veera D'Souza, dean of the Faculty of Arts and HOD of Political Science, coordinated the international webinar and gave a welcoming speech before introducing the eminent resource persons. Joan Rita O'Brien, Dr. Deena D'Souza, and Dr. Shakila Hegde moderated the sessions. Dr. Loveena Lobo, Savitha D'Souza, and Dr Priya Shetty formally introduced the resource individuals. The entire session was summarised by Alwin D'Souza. The program's convenor, Maria Shaila D'Souza, an assistant professor in the Political Science department, gave the vote of gratitude.