President Kovind to Kick-off Indian Women's Legislators Convention in Thiruvananthapuram on May 26

President Kovind to Kick-off Indian Women's Legislators Convention in Thiruvananthapuram on May 26

By: WE Staff | Thursday, 19 May 2022

Conference-2022, billed as the country's first such meeting of female MLAs and MPs, will take place at the Kerala Legislative Assembly Complex. The conference will include female speakers, deputy speakers, and ministers from around India.The first-ever National Women Legislators' Conference On May 26 and 27, the National Women Legislators'

On May 26, President Ram Nath Kovind will kick off the two-day conference. Speaker M B Rajesh made the announcement in Thiruvananthapuram.

The event is part of the Azad Ka Amrit Mahotsav, which commemorates India's 75th anniversary of independence. Speaker of the Lok Sabha Om Birla had already encouraged state legislatures to come up with creative ways to commemorate the 75th anniversary. On August 10, 2021, Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan kicked off the 75th anniversary celebrations of the Kerala Assembly.

Women from the political, legal, social, cultural, and media spheres will also be present at the conference. During the conference, four sessions will be held.

Gujarat Speaker Nimaben Acharya, Lok Sabha MP Kanimozhi Karunanidhi, former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, and former Rajya Sabha MP Brinda Karat will talk in the first session, titled "Constitution and Women's Rights."

The second session will feature presentations from Lok Sabha MP Supriya Sule, Rajya Sabha MP Jebi Mather, and former MP Subhashini Ali on the 'Role of Women in India's Freedom Struggle.'

On May 27, the third and fourth sessions will be held. West Bengal's women and child development minister Shashi Panja, Kerala High Court Judge Justice Anu Sivaraman, Jaya Bachchan MP, and Delhi's deputy speaker Rakhi Birla will talk at the third session, titled "Women's Rights and Legal Gaps."

Uttarakhand Speaker Ritu Khanduri, Telangana MLC Kavitha Kalvakuntla, and Annie Raja, general secretary of the National Federation of Women, will speak at the fourth session, titled "Underrepresentation of Women in Decision-Making Bodies."

130 legislators from 17 states have already registered for the event, according to Speaker M B Rajesh. He announced that the Assembly has launched a dedicated webpage for online registration.

Governor Arif Mohammed Khan will preside over the inaugural event on May 26 in the Assembly's Sankaranarayanan Thampi Members' Lounge. Pinarayi Vijayan, the Leader of the Opposition V. D. Satheesan, and Ministers Veena George, J. Chinchurani, and R. Bindu will all be in attendance.

The valedictory will be inaugurated by Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla on May 27 in the afternoon.