In a first 2 female IPS officers promoted to DGP in Punjab

By: WE Staff | Tuesday, 24 January 2023

Gurpreet Kaur Deo and Shashi Prabha Dwivedi became the first women serving in the Punjabi IPS to be promoted to the position of Director General of Police (DGP). They are one of seven DGP rank officers who were promoted to DGP, making a total of 13 persons in the state who hold the top police position. The promoted IPS officers are all from the 1993 batch.

Gurpreet, the senior-most promoted individual, is the very first woman IPS officer in the Punjab Police. On September 5, 1993, she was designated as an officer with the IPS. Previously, she held the positions of Additional DGP (Community Affairs Division and Women Affairs), ADGP-cum-chief of the anti-drug Special Task Force, Chief Vigilance Officer, ADGP (Crime), Bureau of Investigation, and ADGP (Administration).

Shashi, who was appointed Extra DGP (Railways) and given additional modernization responsibilities, is also from the 1993 cohort but joined the IPS on September 4, 1994. I'm thrilled to have reached the top rank, and I'm grateful to the administration, said Shashi Prabha.

Shashi had previously held the positions of ADGP (Human Resource Development) with secondary responsibility for Women and Child Affairs and ADGP (Lokpal) with just a secondary responsibility for Nodal Officer, Punjab Police Election Cell.

Varinder Kumar, Director of the Vigilance Bureau, Rajendra Namdeo Dhoke, Chief of the Internal Security and Mining Enforcement Directorate, Ishwar Singh, ADGP of Human Resource Development with additional responsibility as the nodal officer for Welfare and State Elections, Jitendra Kumar Jain, and Satish Kumar Asthana are some of the other individuals who have been promoted to the rank of DGP (ADGP, Policy & Rules).

After the AAP government was established in the state, Varinder Kumar continued to be in the spotlight due to the Vigilance Bureau's recent registration of multiple cases and the arrest of several prominent individuals, including plenty of Congress leaders and former ministers.

Due to the promotions, the Punjab Police now has 13 officials in the DGP rank, including the officially appointed state police chief Gaurav Yadav. The other five DGP rank officers, in addition to Yadav and the seven newly promoted individuals, are VK Bhawra, Chairman of the Punjab Police Housing Corporation, Sanjeev Kalra, DGP of the Punjab Home Guards, Prabodh Kumar, Special DGP of the Punjab State Human Rights Commission, Sharad Satya Chauhan, and Kuldeep Singh (Special DGP Special Task Force).